Los Angeles DUI Lawyers
Essential Counsel on Your Side to Face Strict DUI Laws
The DUI laws in California are very strict. There is a “no tolerance” law for drivers under age 21, which means that no one under 21 years old can drive with any measurable blood alcohol level. A reading of a 0.01 or higher can come from cough syrup or in some other innocent form - California law considers only your blood alcohol level. As a result, if you face a DUI charge you need an experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer to help you.
If you are 21 or older, the blood alcohol level for drunk driving is 0.08, similar to other states. However, a reading of a 0.04 - 0.07 could still result in an arrest for Driving Under the Influence rather than driving above the legal limit. If you have been previously convicted of a DUI and are still on probation, you are not allowed to drive with any measurable amount of alcohol in your blood. If your probationary period has already ended, a second DUI offense within 10 years of the first offense will subject you to greater punishment and a minimum of 96 hours in county jail.
We Work to Save Your Freedom
The penalties in California for a DUI are substantial, even for a first offense. Remember, if you’re under 21, very little is needed for you to be considered “driving under the influence.”
Here are some of the penalties you can face on your first DUI conviction in Los Angeles:
- Huge fines: Fines range from $1,800 - $3,600.
- Jail time: Most people do not spend any additional time in jail outside of the time spent when initially arrested. The maximum one could spend in county jail on a first time DUI is 180 days.
- Loss of driving privileges: At least 30 days of license suspension before you can apply for a work-only restricted license. You could lose your license for six to 10 months.
- Vehicle impound: Your car could be stored – at your expense – in an impound lot for up to 30 days.
- Alcohol treatment program: You’ll be required to attend a three to nine-month alcohol treatment program, depending on what your convicted blood alcohol level was.
- Probation: Almost all first-time offenders are placed on probation for three to five years.
Additional convictions for DUI result in harsher penalties with longer suspensions and jail time. Having an experienced Los Angeles criminal defense attorney can be the difference between freedom and a conviction that turns your life upside down.
If you’re looking for help on a DUI charge, contact us today for a free consultation. (213) 536-4303.
Manshoory Law Group, APC Is Here to Help
Nobody wants their life destroyed by a first, second, or subsequent DUI conviction. That’s where we come in. Manshoory Law Group, APC has experienced Los Angeles criminal defense attorneys that are ready to help you protect your freedom and get a fair resolution to your case.
We only do criminal defense, so you know you’re getting our very best. We pride ourselves on being available 24/7 for any questions or concerns that you have. We’ll keep you informed every step of the way, and you’ll understand exactly what is happening in your case.
Are you facing a DUI charge? Get a free consultation today by contacting us at (213) 536-4303!